• ABC Details

Patient Safety and Quality Advisory Committee


Health and Community Services


Subparagraph 19(1)(b)(i) of the Patient Safety Act


No Remuneration


To advise and make recommendations to the Minister on matters relating to patient safety and quality assurance within the Regional Health Authorities.


The Committee shall be comprised of the Deputy Minister of Health and Community Services or designate and not more than 12 other members which shall include patient representatives, officials of the Department of Health and Community Services, Vice-Presidents of Regional Health Authorities, patient safety physicians and those other persons considered appropriate by the Minister. The Minister appoints a member to act as chairperson.

Competency Profile:

Diversity in the backgrounds, skills and experience of appointed Committee members can enhance the effectiveness of a Committee by bringing a wider range of perspectives and knowledge. Examples of such backgrounds may include:

  • Strategic Management and Organizational Change
  • Health Care
  • Quality improvement, safety
  • Public Sector Administration
  • Governance
  • Human Resources
  • Executive Experience
  • Patient advocacy


The following attributes are important considerations in selecting the patient representatives committee members:

  • Personal experience as a patient or a family member of a patient receiving or who has received health care services through a Regional Health Authority
  • Interest in health care
  • Previous committee experience
  • Commitment to continuous improvement
  • Available to participate in committee meetings
  • Knowledge and appreciation of patient safety issues
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Appreciation of a regional health authority’s responsibilities to the public
  • Flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions
  • Capable of a wide perspective on issues
  • Comfortable speaking in a group
  • Ability to listen and work as a team member
  • No direct or indirect conflict of interest
  • Strong reasoning and conflict resolution skills
  • Effective communication skills (written and oral)

Time Commitments:

The Committee will meet at least every three months, or at the call of the Chair. Meetings are face-to-face; however teleconference and/or videoconference services are available to members who are unable to travel, if requested.


A patient representative member holds office for a term of three years and is eligible to be re-appointed for one additional term of three years. Where the term of office of a patient representative member expires, he or she continues to be a member of the committee until re-appointed or replaced.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Boulding, Mr. DavidMemberMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Fitzgerald, Dr. JaniceChief Medical Officer of HealthMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Hanrahan, Ms. HeatherAssistant Deputy Minister, Regional ServicesMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Herritt, Ms. JeannineManager of Adverse Events and Chief NurseMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Laing, Ms. TaraMember of Quality Assurance CommitteeMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Luedee-Warren, Ms. ReneeDirector of Long-Term CareMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
O'Brien, Ms. KelliVice President of Quality and SafetyMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Robichaud, Ms. AndreePresident and Chief Executive OfficerMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Ryan, Ms. MichelleDirector of Quality, Risk and Public SafetyMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Stone, Ms. KarenChairpersonAppointed in accordance with Section 19 of the Patient Safety Act2019-12-132022-12-12
Sweeney, Ms. GillianVice President of Clinical Information Programs and Change LeadershipMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Vogel, Dr. MartinVice President of Medical ServicesMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Wicks, Ms. HilaryMemberMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12
Woollam, Dr. Gabe Vice President of Medical ServicesMinisterial2019-12-132022-12-12

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits