• ABC Details

Occupational Health and Safety Advisory Council


Service NL


Section 14 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act


Level I


The Occupational Health and Safety Advisory Council (the Council) advises the minister on: the administration of the Act and the regulations; occupational health and safety; and those other matters relating to occupational health and safety that the minister has referred to the Council for its advice.


The Council shall consist of not more than 11 members, 2 of whom shall be the assistant deputy minister and the chief executive officer of the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission. The membership of the Council is to include equal representation from labour and management. The Lieutenant-Governor in Council may designate 1 of the members of the Council to be chairperson and another member to be vice-chairperson. The Lieutenant-Governor in Council may establish and appoint subcommittees of the Council. In addition to the members of the Council, observers may attend Council meetings at the Chairpersons’ invitation.

Competency Profile:

Those who make up the Advisory Council should collectively possess the following diverse experience, sills and competencies.

  • Project Management;
  • Business Operations Experience;
  • Construction/Trade Expertise;
  • Strategic Management and Organizational Change;
  • Law Enforcement;
  • Health Care and Safety Management;
  • Information Technology;
  • Public Relations;
  • Public Sector Administration;
  • Private Sector Administration;
  • Human Resources;
  • Labour Relations;
  • Executive Experience
  • Engineering Expertise;
  • Education Expertise;
  • Financial Expertise/Literacy;
  • Legal Expertise;
  • Occupational Health and Safety Experience/Expertise; and
  • Radiation health and safety Expertise/Experience would be an asset.


  • Knowledge and experience in Occupational Health and Safety matters;
  • Interest in health and safety in the workplace;
  • High ethical standards and integrity;
  • Appreciation of the responsibilities to the public;
  • Flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions;
  • Capable of a wide perspective on issues and an ability to listen and work as a team member;
  • No direct or indirect conflict of interest;
  • Strong reasoning and problem solving skills;
  • Policy development experience; and,
  • Consultation experience.
  • Candidates must also be in a position to represent either Management/Employers on the Council or be in position to represent Labour/Employees on the Council.

Time Commitments:

The Council is required to meet annually at the call of the minister or the chairperson, or in the absence of the chairperson, the vice-chairperson. The Lieutenant-Governor in Council may establish and appoint subcommittees of the Council.


Members are to be appointed for terms not exceeding 3 years and are eligible for reappointment for not more than 2 consecutive terms. At least one half of the members next appointed or reappointed shall be appointed for a term of 2 years and the remainder appointed for a term of 3 years. All subsequent appointments of members to the Council shall be for a term of 3 years.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Assistant Deputy MinisterMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2003-07-11Not Applicable
Chief Executive OfficerMemberLieutenant Governor in CouncilNot Applicable
Collins, Ms. Lana Marie MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2018-03-052020-03-04
House, Mr. Derrick MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2018-03-052020-03-04
Hynes, Ms. Yvette Vice-ChairpersonLieutenant Governor in Council2018-03-052021-03-04
Ivany, Ms. Cathy MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2018-03-052021-03-04
King, Ms. Mary Kathleen MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2018-03-052020-03-04
Reid, Ms. Kristy MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2018-03-052020-03-04
Richards, Mr. Robert G. MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2018-03-052021-03-04
White, Mr. Travis ChairpersonLieutenant Governor in Council2018-03-052021-03-04

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits