• ABC Details

Premier's Youth Council


Communications and Public Engagement


At the direction of Cabinet


No Remuneration


The purpose of the Premier’s Youth Council is to:

  • Provide advice to the Premier and Provincial Government, bringing a youth perspective to select topics important to youth and government’s agenda.


The Premier's Youth Council is comprised of up to 25 youth members between the ages of 16 and 24 at the time of appointment, balanced for gender, regional and other considerations such as disability, LBGTQ+ and racial minority communities, etc. Efforts will be made to ensure the Premier’s Youth Council is inclusive and representative of the communities served within the province.

Competency Profile:

Members of the Premier’s Youth Council should collectively possess the following core competencies:

  • Creative problem solving
  • Collaboration and teamwork
  • Commitment to community
  • Excellent written and oral communication
  • Strategic thinking
  • Strong leadership skills
  • Self-motivation
  • Ability to work independently

In addition, the members of the Premier’s Youth Council should demonstrate the following personal attributes:

  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Appreciation of responsibilities to the public
  • Ability to listen and consider diverse perspectives on issues
  • Self-discipline and high work ethic
  • Compassion and commitment to helping others


Members of the Premier’s Youth Council must:

  • Be between the ages of 16 and 24 at the time of appointment
  • Normally reside in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador for nine months of the year while serving on the Council.

Time Commitments:

Members of the Premier’s Youth Council will meet twice a year to fulfill their mandate; once in person (1-2 days); and once via video- and/or teleconference.

In addition to these meetings, government may identify a need to consult the Premier’s Youth Council from time to time and convene additional meetings or smaller focus groups to collect input on a particular program or policy.


Members will serve one-year terms, with the opportunity for reappointment for an additional year. In order to ensure continuity of the Council’s work, two co-chairs will be appointed for two-year terms.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Ball, ErinMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Barnes, Billy WesleyMemberMinisterial2018-10-152019-10-16
Barry, ShaelynnMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Bellows, McAuleyMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Carter, LaurenMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Chaulk, KaylieMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Farrell, RileyMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Hillier, NicholasMemberMinisterial2018-10-152019-10-16
Leonard, FrancesMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Lundrigan, Melanie RoseMemberMinisterial2018-10-152019-10-16
Mackey, Raylene Co-ChairMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Moriarity, HaleyMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Murdoch, MarkCo-ChairMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Murphy, AdamMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Newhook, BennettMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Noseworthy, HaileyMemberMinisterial2018-10-152019-10-16
Pearson, PatrickMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Peckford, LauraMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Perry, OliviaMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Stark, DanielMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Verma, RadhikaMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Wells, KatieMemberMinisterial2018-10-152019-10-16
White, WilliamMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01
Winsor, SaraMemberMinisterial2017-09-012019-09-01

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits