• ABC Details

Regional Appeal Board - Central


Municipal Affairs and Environment


Section 41 of the Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000


Level I


The Regional Appeal Boards are established to hear, decide and issue orders respecting appeals within their respective areas of jurisdiction in all cases where, under the Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000 or regulations, an appeal board is required to do so.


The Minister shall appoint three (3) to five (5) board members as per section 41(1) of the Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000.

Competency Profile:

Members are appointed by the Minister. While the Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000 does not outline qualifications for members of a Regional Appeal Board, members should ideally possess some general knowledge in the following subjects: land use planning, local governance, and administrative law.


While no specific education, training, or community involvement is required to hold office on a Regional Appeal Board under the Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000, experience with local governance, municipal administration, administrative law, and planning would benefit a member and Board tremendously. 

  • Ideal personal attributes include:
  • high ethical standards and integrity;
  • appreciation of the responsibilities to the public;
  • ability to listen and work as a team member;
  • no direct or indirect conflict of interest;
  • strong reasoning skills; and
  • ability to chair a meeting in a calm and collected manner.

Time Commitments:

Members of the Central Newfoundland Regional Appeal Board should be available to meet three (3) times per year for approximately two (2) to three (3) days. 

Board members will be expected to spend additional time reviewing materials and preparing for appeal hearings.


Members hold office for three (3) years and may be reappointed for three (3) more years. Members shall continue to serve on the board until replaced or reappointed.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Burbridge, Mr. StephenChairpersonMinisterial2018-05-102021-05-19
Carter, Mr. WilliamMemberMinisterial2018-05-102021-05-09
Oxford, Mr. DavidMemberMinisterial2018-05-102021-05-09
Thompson, Mr. GeraldMemberMinisterial2018-05-102021-05-09
Thomson, Mr. BarryMemberMinisterial2018-05-102021-05-09

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits