• ABC Details

Newfoundland and Labrador Legal Aid Commission


Justice and Public Safety


Section 3 of the Legal Aid Act


Level II


The Legal Aid Commission operates under the Legal Aid Act, which provides for the provision of legal counsel to represent eligible residents of the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador:

  • charged with offences under the Criminal Code of Canada and other federal and provincial statutes;
  • who have family law disputes; or,
  • who are involved with some types of administrative law matters.


The affairs of the Commission shall be managed by a Board of Commissioners consisting of seven members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council; the Deputy Minister of the department; and the Provincial Director. Pursuant to s3(3) of the Legal Aid Act three of the commissioners must be lawyers chosen from a list of five persons submitted to the Minister by the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Competency Profile:

Those who make up the Legal Aid Commission should collectively possess the following core competencies:

  • Familiarity with the Legal Aid Act;
  • Knowledge of the Province’s legal system and the operation of courts and tribunals;
  • Financial management experience;
  • Experience in communications or public relations;
  • Familiarity with Human Resources issues;
  • Understanding of the legal needs of individuals experiencing low-income; and
  • Awareness of Aboriginal culture.


  • High ethical standards and integrity;
  • Exceptional verbal, written and listening skills; and

A combination of education and experience will be considered, including, but not limited to, experience in law, social work, finance, human resources, and communications.

Consideration will also be given to diverse backgrounds and regional representation.


Time Commitments:

The Board meets at least once a month except when the Chairperson considers a meeting unnecessary. Where a member of the Board, other than ex-officio members, without giving a reasonable explanation to the Chairperson, fails to attend three consecutive meetings of the Board, he or she stops being a member of the Board.  A member of the Board may participate in a meeting of the Board by means of telephone or another telecommunications device that permits all persons participating in the meeting to communicate with each other.

Board members are also expected to spend additional time reviewing materials and preparing for Board and Committee meetings.


A member of the Board, other than the Deputy Minister of Justice and Public Safety and the Provincial Director, shall hold office during pleasure for the term of two years from the date of his or her appointment and is eligible for reappointment. Where the term of office of a member of the Board expires, he or she continues to be a member of the Board until reappointed or replaced.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Chalker, Mr. Timothy JamesChairpersonLieutenant Governor in Council2017-12-122019-12-11
Deputy Minister of Justice and Public SafetyMemberBy virtue of the officeNot Applicable
Duggan, Mr. Mark GerardMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-12-122019-12-11
French, Mr. Gregory A.MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-12-122019-12-11
Hagerty, Ms. Allison MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-12-122019-12-11
Provincial Director of Legal AidMemberBy virtue of the officeNot Applicable
Strong, Ms. Donna MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-12-122019-12-11
Whelan, Ms. AllisonMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-12-122019-12-11
Zdebiak, Mr. Rodney MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-12-122019-12-11

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits