• ABC Details

Council of the College of Physiotherapists of Newfoundland and Labrador


Health and Community Services


Section 4 of the Physiotherapy Act, 2006


No Remuneration


To ensure that persons working in this specific health profession have the appropriate academic credentials and competencies for entry to practice.


The college shall be governed by a council consisting of seven members elected from and by registered physiotherapists in accordance with the by-laws; and two members appointed by the Minister who are not registered physiotherapists.

Competency Profile:

Diversity in the backgrounds, skills and experience of appointed Council members can enhance the effectiveness of a Council by bringing a wider range of perspectives and knowledge. Examples of such backgrounds may include:

  • Strategic Management and Organizational Change
  • Law Enforcement
  • Health Care
  • Information Technology
  • Public Relations
  • Public Sector Administration
  • Governance
  • Human Resources
  • Labour Relations
  • Executive Experience
  • Engineering Expertise
  • Education
  • Financial Expertise/Literacy
  • Legal Expertise


The following attributes are important considerations in selecting members:

  • Interest in health care
  • Previous board experience
  • Knowledge of the physiotherapy profession
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Appreciation of the responsibilities to the public
  • Flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions
  • Capable of a wide perspective on issues
  • Ability to listen and work as a team member
  • No direct or indirect conflict of interest
  • Strong reasoning and conflict resolution skills
  • Strategic planning experience
  • Effective communication skills (written and oral)
  • Policy development experience
  • Leadership/management skills

Time Commitments:

Council meetings are held once a month (except during July and August) and generally last two hours.

Council members are expected to be a member of the two committees of Council. These committees usually only meet when a need arises and this can be shared between the two appointed members.


A person appointed by the Minister holds office for a term of three years and is eligible to be re-appointed. Where a person appointed by the Minister holds office for a period of nine consecutive years, the person is not eligible for appointment as a member of the council until the expiration of 12 months from the end of the year in which he or she was last a member.

Where the term of office of a person appointed by the Minister expires, he or she continues to be a member of the council until re-appointed or replaced.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Riche, Mr. JohnPublic Interest MemberMinisterial2015-10-292018-10-28
Smith, Ms. Kerri NicolePublic Interest MemberMinisterial2018-10-152021-10-14

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits