• ABC Details

Council of Newfoundland and Labrador College of Optometrists


Health and Community Services


Section 8 of the Optometry Act, 2012


No Remuneration


To ensure that persons working in this health profession have the appropriate academic credentials and competencies for entry to practice.


The Council consists of four directors elected from and by the practitioners in accordance with the by-laws; and two directors appointed by the Minister who are not optometrists and who are suitable to represent the public interest.

Competency Profile:

Diversity in the backgrounds, skills and experience of appointed Board members can enhance the effectiveness of a Board by bringing a wider range of perspectives and knowledge. Examples of such backgrounds may include:

  • Strategic Management and Organizational Change
  • Law Enforcement
  • Health Care
  • Information Technology
  • Public Relations
  • Public Sector Administration
  • Governance
  • Human Resources
  • Labour Relations
  • Executive Experience
  • Engineering Expertise
  • Education
  • Financial Expertise/Literacy
  • Legal Expertise


The following attributes are important considerations in selecting members:

  • Interest in health care
  • Previous board experience
  • Knowledge of the optometry profession
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Appreciation of the responsibilities to the public
  • Flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions
  • Capable of a wide perspective on issues
  • Ability to listen and work as a team member
  • No direct or indirect conflict of interest
  • Strong reasoning and conflict resolution skills
  • Strategic planning experience
  • Effective communication skills (written and oral)
  • Policy development experience
  • Leadership/management skills

Time Commitments:

Members of this Board should be available to meet at least two to three times per year, plus any additional meetings and teleconferences as required.


Where the term of an appointed director expires, he or she continues to be a director until re-appointed or replaced.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Burton, Mr. John BrucePublic Interest MemberMinisterial2019-02-042022-02-03
Lester, Ms. Rosemary WynnPublic Interest MemberMinisterial2019-02-042022-02-03

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits