• ABC Details

Review Panel of the Medical Care and Hospital Insurance Act


Health and Community Services


Subsection 28(1) of the Medical Care and Hospital Insurance Act


Level II


A review board (chosen from the Panel) would likely be convened when a participating physician, dentist or professional medical corporation disagrees with the findings of an audit. The review board shall make a report to the Minister containing its findings and the report shall also contain recommendations.


The Lieutenant-Governor in Council shall appoint a panel of persons to act as members of a review board consisting of up to 15 persons, five of whom shall be physicians and two of whom shall be dentists selected from lists of nominees provided by the medical association and the dental association respectively.

Time Commitments:

Members are only required if there is a disciplinary issue.


The members of the panel shall be appointed for a term of three years and are eligible for reappointment. Where the term of a member of the panel expires, he or she continues to be a member until reappointed or replaced.

Vacancy Profile:

The Review Panel of the Medical Care Insurance Act is seeking to fill 1 position to represent the public interest.  Expressions of interest are being sought from individuals who possess the background, experience and skill-set identified in the board profile above and who can bring unique perspectives to the table. Consideration will also be given to a variety of demographic factors to ensure the board is representative of the population they serve.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Abhyankar, Dr. SnehaMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2019-10-232022-10-22
Brace, Dr. Alec WayneMemberMinisterial2012-07-262015-07-25
Chaulk, Dr. Roy MemberMinisterial2012-07-262015-07-25
Jewer, Dr. DavidMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2019-10-232022-10-22
Kelly, Mr. Don MemberMinisterial2012-07-262015-07-25
Lawton, Dr. Maureen MemberMinisterial2012-07-262015-07-25
Peddle, Mr. Gary MemberMinisterial2014-12-122017-12-11
Power, Ms. Keri-Lynn MemberMinisterial2014-12-122017-12-11
Snow, Dr. PatrickMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2019-10-232022-10-22
Sparrow, Dr. Carl DouglasMemberMinisterial2012-07-262015-07-25
Young, Dr. Todd K. MemberMinisterial2012-07-262015-07-25

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits