• ABC Details

College of Registered Nurses of Newfoundland and Labrador Disciplinary Panel


Health and Community Services


Subsection 19(5) of the Registered Nurses Act, 2008


No Remuneration


To hear complaints regarding registered nurses.


The council shall appoint at least eighteen registered nurses who are not members of the council, one of whom will be appointed to serve as chairperson, and the Minister will appoint at least nine persons, who are not registered nurses or members of the council, to represent the public interest.

Competency Profile:

Diversity in the backgrounds, skills and experience of appointed Panel members can enhance the effectiveness of a Panel by bringing a wider range of perspectives and knowledge. Examples of such backgrounds may include:

  • Human Resources
  • Business or Public Administration
  • Health Care
  • Information Technology
  • Governance
  • Labour Relations
  • Executive Experience
  • Post-Secondary Education
  • Financial Expertise/Literacy
  • Legal Expertise
  • Human Resources


The following attributes are important considerations in selecting members:

  • Previous board experience
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Understanding and appreciation of confidentiality
  • Appreciation of the responsibilities to the public
  • Understanding of regulatory principles including fiduciary responsibilities
  • Flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions
  • Available and flexible with time
  • Capable of a wide perspective on issues
  • Ability to listen and work as a team member
  • No direct or indirect conflict of interest
  • Strong reasoning and analytical skills
  • Strategic planning experience
  • Effective communication skills (written and oral)

Time Commitments:

One public representative is required per panel based upon availability. Those who participate in hearings often have to commit several sequential days and then as needed for further dates. Dates for meetings are set by consensus but must accommodate the full panel.


Of the members first appointed to the disciplinary panel, one half will be appointed for a term of two years and the remainder for a term of three years and all subsequent appointments of members will be for a term of three years. Notwithstanding the term of his or her term, a member of the panel continues to be a member until he or she is re-appointed or his or her replacement is appointed. Persons appointed to the panel may be reappointed.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Andrews, Mr. Edward MemberMinisterial2019-04-052022-04-04
Benson, Mr. F DarrylMemberMinisterial2019-04-052022-04-04
Cody, Dr. Ann MemberMinisterial2019-04-052022-04-04
Doyle, Ms. CarmelMemberMinisterial2019-04-052022-04-04
Mullins, Mr. Thomas MemberMinisterial2019-04-052022-04-04
Osmond, Mr. JamieMemberMinisterial2019-04-052022-04-04
Pittman, Mr. SeanMemberMinisterial2019-04-052022-04-04
Rotondi, Ms. MariaMemberMinisterial2019-04-052022-04-04
Wade, Mr. Edward MemberMinisterial2013-02-132016-02-12
Wells, Mr. David Robert MemberMinisterial2014-12-152017-12-14
West, Dr. Patricia MemberMinisterial2009-02-132016-02-12

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits