• ABC Details

Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals


Health and Community Services


Section 8 of the Health Professions Act


No Remuneration


Responsible for governing the regulation of the following seven health professional groups: Acupuncturists, Audiologists, Speech Language Pathologists, Dental Hygienists, Medical Laboratory Technologists, Midwives, and Respiratory Therapists.


The council shall consist of the elected chairperson of each college established under the Act and one other member elected from and by each college in accordance with the council's by-laws; and one member appointed by the Minister, who shall not be a member of a college, to represent the public interest.

Competency Profile:

Diversity in the backgrounds, skills and experience of appointed Panel members can enhance the effectiveness of a Panel by bringing a wider range of perspectives and knowledge. Examples of such backgrounds may include:

  • Strategic Management and Organizational Change
  • Law Enforcement
  • Health Care
  • Information Technology
  • Public Relations
  • Public Sector Administration
  • Governance
  • Human Resources
  • Labour Relations
  • Executive Experience
  • Engineering Expertise
  • Education
  • Financial Expertise/Literacy
  • Legal Expertise


The following attributes are important considerations in selecting members:

  • Interest in health care
  • Previous board experience
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Appreciation of the responsibilities to the public
  • Flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions
  • Capable of a wide perspective on issues
  • Ability to listen and work as a team member
  • No direct or indirect conflict of interest
  • Strong reasoning and conflict resolution skills
  • Strategic planning experience
  • Effective communication skills (written and oral)
  • Policy development experience
  • Leadership/management skills

Time Commitments:

Council meetings generally last 2.5 hours and are held a minimum of four times per year. An additional 1-2 hours in preparation for Council meetings is usually required. In addition, members are required to attend the Council’s Annual General Meeting, any education sessions and strategic planning sessions.

Council members are expected to be a member of at least one of the committees of Council. The committees of the Council generally meet a minimum of four times per year for a 2.5 hour meeting; depending upon the nature of the work, committees may meet more often.


A person appointed holds office for a term of three years and is eligible to be re-appointed. Where a person appointed holds office for a period of nine consecutive years, the person is not eligible for appointment as a member of the council until the expiration of 12 months from the end of the year in which he or she was last a member.

Where the term of office of a member of the council expires and a successor has not been elected or appointed, the member may continue to hold office until a successor is elected or appointed.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Brake-Patten, Dr. DebbieMemberMinisterial2018-11-192021-11-18
Dunne, Ms. GladysMemberMinisterial2015-10-292018-10-28
Fisher, Mr. JoshuaMemberMinisterial2018-11-192021-11-18
Jeffery, Mr. WilliamMemberMinisterial2018-11-192021-11-18
Whitten, Ms. Elizabeth MemberMinisterial2018-11-192021-11-18
Wright, Mr. Douglas MemberMinisterial2018-11-192021-11-18

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits