• ABC Details

Dental Monitoring Committee


Health and Community Services


Memorandum of Agreement


Public members on the committee will be remunerated on an hourly basis for their committee service and reimbursed for their travel expenses (Level ll according to Treasury Board guidelines).


To adjudicate complex dental claims under the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Care Plan and to provide the Department of Health & Community Services with recommendations regarding complex Oral Health matters. The committee shall be assigned the responsibility of reviewing and making recommendations to the Minister regarding complex dental claims, billing patterns and services provided, which are referred to the Committee by the Dental Director.


The committee will consist of: three voting members, all of whom shall be dentists licensed to practice in Newfoundland and Labrador; the Dental Director who shall be a permanent, non-voting member; and the MCP Manager of Claims Processing who shall be a permanent, non-voting member. The Department may appoint one administrative support position as a permanent, non-voting member. The Newfoundland and Labrador Dental Association may recommend individuals as candidates for the position of voting members, and the Minister shall consider such recommendations. The Dental Director will be Chairperson.

Competency Profile:

Diversity in the backgrounds, skills and experience of appointed Panel members can enhance the effectiveness of a Panel by bringing a wider range of perspectives and knowledge. Examples of such backgrounds may include:

  • Dentistry
  • Health Care
  • Public Sector Administration
  • Financial Expertise/Literacy


The following attributes are important considerations in selecting members:

  • Knowledge of dental treatment plans
  • Interest in health care
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Board scope of practice
  • Appreciation of the responsibilities to the public
  • Flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions
  • Capable of a wide perspective on issues
  • Ability to listen and work as a team member
  • No direct or indirect conflict of interest
  • Strong reasoning and conflict resolution skills
  • Strategic planning experience
  • Effective communication skills (written and oral)
  • Policy development experience
  • Leadership/management skills

Time Commitments:

The committee will meet quarterly, and additional meetings may be called at the discretion of the Chairperson. Meetings generally last for three to four hours.


Voting members shall be appointed by the Minister for a three year term. No voting members will serve more than two consecutive terms. A voting member may serve subsequent terms, provided that there is a three year break in service after two consecutive terms.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Batten, Dr. Derrick MemberMinisterial2015-01-272018-01-26
Dental Director, Department of Health and Community ServicesGovernment RepresentativeMinisterialNot Applicable
Jerath, Dr. Vinay MemberMinisterial2015-01-272018-01-26
MacDonald, Dr. Marjorie MemberMinisterial2015-01-272018-01-26
Manager of Claims Processing, Department of Health and Community ServicesGovernment RepresentativeMinisterialNot Applicable
Sue-Ann Hynes, Dr. Kelly MemberMinisterial2015-01-272018-01-26

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits