• ABC Details

Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador


Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation


Section 22 of the Historic Resources Act


No Remuneration


The objectives of the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador (HFNL) are:

  • Stimulate an understanding of and an appreciation for the architectural heritage of the province;
  • Support and contribute to the preservation, maintenance and restoration of buildings and other structures of architectural or historical significance in the province; and
  • Contribute to the increase and diffusion of knowledge about the architectural heritage of the province.
  • Encourage and support the safeguarding of the province’s intangible cultural heritage. The Foundation is governed by a board that reports to the Minister of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation. It primarily fulfills its mandate through the designation of heritage structures and districts, the provision of grants for heritage preservation work, promotional activities on the importance of heritage, the provision of technical advice on heritage preservation and adaptive reuse and through the operation of an Intangible Cultural Heritage Office. The annual budget is approximately $400,000. The operations of HFNL are managed by an executive director with a permanent staff of 4 and short-term contract staff generally of 2-3.


The HFNL Board currently consists of ten members (includes one TCII representative) Board member terms are for three year terms (which are normally renewable for a second term). The executive director reports to the board which operates under the Carver model.

Competency Profile:

Those who make up the HFNL should collectively possess the following experience:

  • Strategic Management and Governance
  • Public Relations and Communications
  • Knowledge of and experience in heritage preservation
  • Architecture/Planning
  • Community development
  • Financial Expertise/Literacy
  • Legal Expertise


Board members should also possess an appreciation of and experience in the field of heritage preservation through either a professional or volunteer involvement. This might include involvement in a community heritage organization or experience in fields such as heritage carpentry, municipal or heritage planning, or architecture. Board members should also:

  • high ethical standards and integrity
  • appreciation of responsibilities to the public
  • flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions;
  • capable of a wide perspective on issues;
  • ability to listen and work as a team member;
  • no direct or indirect conflict of interest
  • strong reasoning skills

Time Commitments:

Members of the HFNL should be available to meet 4-6 times per year which would consist of one face-to-face meeting per year (1-2 days) along with bi-monthly video/teleconferences of 2-3 hours. Occasionally input or decisions of the board will be requested via email. Involvement in the HFNL’s committees would involve three to four additional meetings per year either in person or by video/teleconference. Board members may also be expected to spend additional time to review materials and prepare for Board and Committee meetings.


Board terms are for a period of 3 years. An additional 3 year term may be approved.

Vacancy Profile:

The Board is seeking to fill two vacancies. Expression of interest is being sought from individuals who possess the background, experience and skill set identified in the board profile. Considerations will be given to a variety of demographic factors to ensure the board is representative of the clients it serves.  

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Daly, Ms. Lisa MichelleMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-11-032020-11-03
Director of Arts and Heritage, TCIIMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-11-032020-11-03
Kane, Mr. Lloyd MemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-11-032020-11-03
Lough, Mr. David KeithMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-11-032020-11-03
Miller, Mr. JamesMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-11-032020-11-03
Murphy, Ms. ElizabethMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-11-032020-11-03
Wade, Ms. SarahMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-11-032020-11-03
Wood, Mr. PhilipMemberLieutenant Governor in Council2017-11-032020-11-03

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits