• ABC Details

Board of Directors of the Engineers and Geoscientists Newfoundland and Labrador

Responsible Entity

Service NL


Section 4 of the Engineers and Geoscientists Act, 2008


No Remuneration


The powers of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador shall be exercised in the name of and on behalf of the association by the board of directors referred to in section 4 of the Engineers and Geoscientists Act, 2008. The Board regulates the practice of the profession within Newfoundland and Labrador.


The association shall be governed by a board of directors which shall consist of 9 professional members elected from and by members of the association in accordance with the by-laws and 3 members appointed by the minister who are not members of the association to represent the public interest. The association shall elect one of the elected members as the chairperson of the board.

Competency Profile:

Diversity in the backgrounds, skills and experience of appointed Board members can enhance the effectiveness of a Board. Examples of such backgrounds may include:

  • Strategic Management and Organizational Change;
  • Legal Expertise;
  • Public Relations;
  • Public Sector Administration;
  • Governance;
  • Human Resources;
  • Experience with Self-Regulating Organizations;
  • Previous Board Experience;
  • Analytical Skills;
  • Executive Experience;
  • Financial Expertise/Literacy; and,
  • Decision Making Skills.


  • High ethical standards and integrity;
  • Appreciation of the responsibilities to the public;
  • Flexible, responsive and willing to consider others’ opinions;
  • Capable of a wide perspective on issues;
  • Ability to listen and work as a team member;
  • No direct or indirect conflict of interest; and,
  • Strong reasoning skills.

Time Commitments:

Members of the Board should be available to meet six times per year for a full day each time. There is also a full day Annual General Meeting following the June Board meeting. There may be other meetings depending on committee work at any given time.


A person appointed by the Minister holds office for a term of 3 years and is eligible to be re-appointed. Where a person appointed by the minister holds office for a period of 9 consecutive years the person is not eligible for appointment as a member of the board until the expiration of 12 months from the end of the year in which he or she was last a member. Where the term of an appointed member expires, he or she continues to be a member until re-appointed or replaced but time served by that member under this subsection shall not be counted for the purpose of the 9 consecutive year limitation.

Current Members:
NameTitleAppointment TypeAppointment Date (yyyy/mm/dd)Expiry Date (yyyy/mm/dd)
Hayes, Ms. LaurenMemberMinisterial2018-05-032021-05-03
Parmiter, Mr. James G.MemberMinisterial2015-07-302018-07-29
Pine, Mr. David R.MemberMinisterial2015-07-302018-07-29

Back to List


This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved. Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement.Photo Credits